Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Death in the Stars by Frances Brody Blog Tour


The latest instalment of Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton mysteries is set in June 1927 and Kate has been invited to view the solar eclipse with singing star Selina Fellini and her friend the comic Billy Moffatt. Selina seems preoccupied and nervous and convinced that something bad will happen so when Billy collapses Kate is not surprised and she suspects that Selina knows more than she is saying. It seems that there have been two other suspicious deaths among the theatre troupe in the recent past. Tasked with investigating the deaths and the strange behaviour of some of those connected with the theatre company Kate makes some new friends and keeps some strange hours. Kate Shackleton is an able and pragmatic heroine and she once again proves herself in the latest book. Frances Brody has created some great characters and brought the 1920s to life in vivid detail. There may be some who seeing the bright, colourful covers might dismiss this series as cosy crime but that would be a mistake. Frances Brody doesn't stint on showing us the mental and physical suffering of men who have returned from war, the alcoholism and drug taking that many have turned to and the impact their distress and behaviour has on their wives and families. Kate also reflects on the way that young men are raised in public schools to become fodder for future wars. This book also gives us an insight into the world of the variety theatre which while remaining popular with many is under threat from the growing popularity of moving pictures. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Jacqueline Winspear and Kerry Greenwood. This is the 9th book in the series put they do not necessarily have to be read in order. Thanks so much to Clara Diaz at Little Brown for a copy.





No comments:

Post a Comment